Crustacean Records Whats New Catalog Bands Listen Contact
Cart is empty $0.00
The Von Ehrics

The Von Ehrics

Saturday, November 8th, 2014

The Von Ehrics were formed in the summer of 2000 in the Red River Bottom of Fannin County, Texas by Robert Jason Vandygriff (Guitars/Vocals) and Jeffery Wayne Mosley (Bass). Their intent was simple: combine the influences of the country and gospel music on which they were raised with the punk and metal records they found as rebellious teenagers.  After wearing out six drummers the current line up was solidified when they met like-minded San Antonio native Gabe Aguilar (Drums) in 2005. Known for their blistering live performances, the Von Ehrics blend straight-forward country songs with high intensity punk rock and roll. The band has toured endlessly since 2002 building a loyal legion of fans across the entire country, and has shared the stage with such acts as Reverend Horton Heat, Hank III, Supersuckers, Drive-By-Truckers, Billy Joe Shaver, Mudhoney, Dale Watson, GBH, Riverboat Gamblers and Old 97s, just to name a few.

The Von Ehrics began with a 2000 EP release when the band started honing their skills in the nightclubs of Dallas’ Deep Ellum music scene quickly gaining notoriety as one of Dallas’ most promising bands. They hit their stride with their self-released full-length debut, Damn Fine Drunks, in 2003. This would send the band on an extensive touring schedule that started with Texas and has since canvassed 44 states.  But it was the release of critically acclaimed The Whiskey Sessions (Rocket 13 Records) in 2006 that defined the Von Ehrics as the prototype for the country punk sound.  The Houston Press called it “one of the most important records of the year” and Cincinnati City Beat called the band “the best southern-boogie trio from Texas since ZZ Top”.

After two years of touring in support of The Whiskey Sessions, the Von Ehrics took the end of 2008 off to recuperate, write and prepare for their third full-length release.  They signed with Crustacean Records and spent over a month recording and mixing in Madison, Wisconsin during the dead of winter with Gavin Lefebvre of the Skintones and SevenOneFive.  Loaded, set for release in March of 2009, is everything you have come to expect from the Von Ehrics and more – train beats that seem to go a million miles per hour, the bass lines walk like a country song but in a punk rock setting, and the vocals are soulful yet scruffy -all of this behind driving guitars that don’t let up.  While The Whiskey Sessions were tales of the unapologetic life on the road, Loaded is more reflective at times‚ and even more unapologetic at others.